Custer County designated for FEMA disaster relief


Six more Nebraska counties, including Custer, and the Santee Sioux Nation have been added to disaster assistance for the state.

Residents and business owners in Boone, Buffalo, Custer, Knox, Richardson and Thurston Counties and the Santee Sioux Nation may now apply for disaster assistance for losses resulting from the severe winter storm, straight-line winds and flooding in March.

Additional counties may be added as damage assessments continue. Impacted homeowners and businesses are encouraged to report their damages to local emergency management. Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and Nebraska Emergency Management Agency (NEMA) staff continue to work tirelessly to assess and validate additional damages.

How to apply:
Online, visit
On a smart phone, download the FEMA app and click on “disaster resources,” then “apply for assistance online.”
By phone, call FEMA’s toll-free registration line at 800-621-3362 or (TTY) 800-462-7585; or use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS). Telephone registration is available from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. Central Daylight Time seven days a week.
Visit a Disaster Recovery Center and speak to a FEMA specialist one-on-one. To find the nearest DRC, go online to

Business owners, private nonprofit organizations, homeowners and renters may be eligible for low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration to help recover from losses not covered by insurance, grants or other sources. Businesses and residents can visit call SBA’s Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955 or email TTY users may call 800-877-8339.

For qualified homeowners and renters, disaster grants help pay for basic repairs to make a home habitable, temporary rental assistance, and serious disaster-related needs not covered by insurance or other sources.

Previously, these counties were designated for FEMA Individual Assistance: Butler, Cass, Colfax, Dodge, Douglas, Nemaha, Sarpy, Saunders and Washington.